The Shinning

This week I watched The Shinning, a film from 1980 by Stanley Kubrick based on Stephen King’s book. I strayed from the list but I love this movie and it’s the first time I’ve seen it since reading the book. I hate to be one of those people that constantly complains about how much better the book was but… the book was so much better. First of all, I’ve seen The Shinning about twenty times and I have more questions every time. I can’t say that the book answered all of my questions but it did make a lot of things more clear. The movie almost seemed rushed after reading the book, like it could have been two hours longer. I know a four hour movie isn’t really possible since the movie is already over two hours but it still felt rushed. As I watched the movie, I realized I still loved it but I wished it had included more specific parts from the book.

After watching The Shinning, I decided to watch Room 237, which is about the possibility of a secret meaning behind the Kubrick’s film. If you are a fan of The Shinning then you need to see Room 237. I thought it would just answer a few questions but instead I was left with even more questions and theories. Even if you don’t believe any or most of the theories (like myself) it is still interesting to see what people can pull from the movie and reference to historical events. This movie includes theories that range from The Shinning being about the Native American genocide and the Holocaust to Greek mythology and Apollo 11 moon landing. Not only are there theories that the moon landing was faked but some believe Kubrick took part in filming the fake landing.

If you’ve seen The Shinning or just enjoy having no clue what’s going on then I would suggest reading the book, watching the movie and then watching Room 237. Keep the remote close though because I found myself constantly rewinding it because I was so shocked.

One thought on “The Shinning

Leave a comment