My Favorites

For this week I wanted to talk about some of my all time favorite horror films. These movies are the reason I own a nightlight at the age of 22 but I continue to watch them because they are SO good. This was really hard to do but I have come up with my top 5 favorite horror films in order…

5. Sinister is creepy and terrifying and everything that makes makes a great horror movie. Some horror movies are slow in the beginning and rush all the good stuff into the last 20 minutes. Sinister is scary from beginning to end. A true crime novel writer moves into a house with his family and soon finds footage of the murders of the previous owners. The father keeps this information to himself until his family starts to experience paranormal activity in the home. The films he finds are easily the creepiest part of this movie which is saying a lot. I would not recommend watching this alone or before bed but if you like scary movies it’s one of my favorites.

4. The Silence of the Lambs definitely isn’t your typical horror movie but that doesn’t make it any less disturbing. I love this movie because it doesn’t just use terrifying images to scare you. You actually have to pay attention to understand what is going on and why it’s so scary. Throughout the movie the get into the head of one psychopath in order to catch another one. Meanwhile, the first psychopath, Hannibal Lecter tries to escape and it actually works. Definitely worth seeing at least once.

3. The Conjuring is the newest movie on the list and claims to be based on a true story. Just like many other horror films, The Conjuring begins as a large family is moving into a new home and starts to experience paranormal activity. The family soon realizes that it is not the house that is being targeted but the family itself. The story behind the haunted house is the most frightening part of the movie and sets the stage for a truly chilling story.

2. Paranormal Activity 3 is the 3rd film in a series of 5 that are filmed using handheld camcorders, security cameras and phone cameras. I usually don’t like sequels of movies and very rarely like the 3rd movie but this is definitely an exception. Paranormal Activity 3 takes place before the first two and in my opinion has the most terrifying paranormal incidents. Maybe because it’s more simple or maybe because it explains the first two but it is my favorite by far. Just writing this is making me want to watch this movie again… I guess I won’t be sleeping tonight.

1. The Shining: I know I’ve written about this one before and I complained about it the entire time but it’s still my all time favorite. Yes the book is even better but it’s still a great movie. I already said a lot about this movie so I’ll keep it short. A classic is a classic and there’s a reason this movie is as popular as it is, even after 35 years.

One thought on “My Favorites

Leave a comment